Source: Google Photos

India set for victory in Commonwealth Championships despite missing top weightlifters. With powerhouses China and North Korea absent, Indian lifters have a prime chance to shine.

India has been the best-performing nation in the Commonwealth Championships since 2011, except for 2013 and 2021. In the last edition, Indian lifters won 16 medals, the highest by any country in 2021, but Canada took the top spot due to a higher number of gold medals.

Indian weightlifters are determined to correct their mistakes this year, with enthusiastic support from local fans. Although star lifters like Mirabai Chanu won’t be participating, the Indian team of 20 members has the potential to secure top positions.

Several lifters in the team have already tasted success in 2021 and proudly stood on the podium in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. Jhilli Dalabehera, a former Asian champion, and Gyaneshwari Yadav, who won a silver medal in the junior World Championships, will be competing in place of Mirabai. Popy Hazarika, Harjinder Kaur, and Lovepreet Singh, who all won bronze medals in the Commonwealth Games, are fiercely determined to upgrade their medals to gold this time around.

Ajay Singh, a two-time champion, aims to win his third gold medal. N Ajith, who holds the title of national champion and is all set for the Asian Games, aims to do his best, especially since his competitor Achinta Sheuli won’t be there to challenge him. India is getting ready to host the tournament for the second occasion, having done a great job the first time in Pune back in 2015.

The event will bring together a total of 253 weightlifters, with 52 of them representing India. These athletes will be competing across various categories over a span of five days. This competition will also serve as a practice round for the new venue, Gautam Budh University. This is in preparation for the even bigger AWF Asian Junior and Youth Weightlifting Championship, which is scheduled for later. begin later this month.

Indian team for the tournament:

Women: Komal Kohar (45kg), Dalabehera (49kg), Gyaneshwari Yadav (49kg), Shrabani Das (55kg), Popy Hazarika (59kg), Nirupama Devi (64kg), S Pallavi (64kg), Harjinder Kaur (71kg), Vanshita  (81kg), Purnima Pandey (+87kg).

  • Mukund Aher (Weighs 55kg)
  • T Madhavan (Weighs 67kg)
  • Shubham Todkar (Weighs 61kg)
  • N Ajith (Weighs 73kg)
  • Ajay Singh (Weighs 81kg)
  • Amarjit Guru (Weighs 89kg)
  • Vishwakarma Jagdish (Weighs 96kg)
  • Harshad Wadekar (Weighs 96kg)
  • Harcharan Singh (Weighs 102kg)
  • Lovepreet Singh (Weighs 109kg)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *